At West Linton Primary consultation on our curriculum with our stakeholders has been very important.  Together with our pupils, parents, staff and community we considered our unique factors and our main drivers for the curriculum.  From this consultation and underpinned by our Vision learning together to achieve our best we created a Rationale for our Curriculum, which can be found here.

For more information about the journey we have been on to develop our curriculum please see this PowerPoint presentation with voice over.

We aim to provide a broad, balanced and progressive curriculum which is relevant to the needs of our pupils. We will ensure that the principles of A Curriculum for Excellence – challenge and enjoyment; breadth; progression; depth; personalisation and choice; coherence and relevance underpin all of our curriculum developments.

The curriculum is made up of four key aspects:

  1. The ethos and life of the school as a community, where: A positive climate of respect and trust is established within the school based on the vision and shared values of the school. Children are encouraged to contribute to the life of the school to take on responsibilities.
  2. Experiences and outcomes through learning in the 8 curriculum areas: Languages, Mathematics, Expressive Arts, Religious and Moral Education, Sciences, Social Studies, Technologies and Health and Wellbeing
  3. Interdisciplinary learning: Projects where children can apply skills, knowledge and understanding from more than one curriculum area to promote deeper understanding and relevance in their learning.
  4. Personal achievement: Opportunities to recognise and share achieve beyond the classroom

All of the above support the development of The Four Capacities to enable children to become

Responsible Citizens

Successful Learners

Effective Contributors

Confident Individuals

The path most children are expected to follow through the levels reflects the stages
of maturation of children and young people and the changing ways in which they
engage with learning as they develop. Some children and young people will start
learning at these levels earlier and others later, depending upon individual needs and
aptitudes. The framework is designed to be flexible in order to permit careful
planning for those with additional support needs, including those who, for example,
have a learning difficulty and those who are particularly able or talented.

The Curriculum for Excellence framework is divided into levels:

Level Stage

Early: The pre-school years and P1, or later for some

First: To the end of P4, but earlier or later for some

Second: To the end of P7, but earlier or later for some

All Scottish Borders classrooms follow the SBC Teaching, Learning & Assessment Policy, which you can download here. The policy recognises the need for varied methods of teaching which leads to improved knowledge, understanding and skills for learners.

Digital Schools Awards Scotland

Recent Learning Updates

Follow us on Twitter